So it’s technically my last day of unemployment today…

So it’s got to that day. It’s the Friday before I go into my new job. Strange feeling at the moment really; I absolutely can’t wait to get started. I’m pretty sure that this will be the role that really kick starts my career, giving me skills and knowledge that will build the platform for years to come.

Don’t get me wrong, the last full time job I had gave me an opportunity to get stuck into the world of Marketing from a practical sense, putting the knowledge I had gained at university into action, and I’ll always be thankful for that. It just never matched up with where I wanted to go and what I wanted to learn from a professional perspective. On top of that, it was only a 2 minute walk to the office. Some people would love that; at first I did, but eventually the novelty wore off and I felt like a lack of a commute took a bit of formality away from the job.

So in a weird way, I don’t feel I have had a full time job since my placement year during my University studies. I feel like the biggest challenge, particularly in the first month will be adjusting to the new routine. Over the past 6 months I’ve had a routine of getting up at 9am, making my poached eggs, going to the gym, getting settled at about 12pm and applying for jobs throughout the afternoon.
My new routine is going to be harder to adjust to I’m pretty sure; a one hour commute in the morning, coupled with breakfast and waking up fully in a morning means I’m going to be waking up at around 6:30am! No worries; I’ve been slowly moving my alarm backward over the past week; haven’t quite got to the 6:30am time yet, so here’s hoping I can ignore the snooze option next week and make it out of bed when I want to!

I’m glad that this period of my life is coming to an end, but in a weird way I’m thankful for it as well. Not in the sense that I’m thankful I’ve not had a job and been able to sit on my arse all day and do nothing, far from it! The last 6 months or however long it’s been have made me a much more confident person. I now know exactly and how I am going to get to where I want to in life. Sure, I had an idea before, but it was very wishy washy, sort of a general overview of what I want. I’ve been able to sit down and think about goals I want to reach, both from a professional and a personal perspective and how I am going to get there.
Not only that, but I am a much more resilient person. Before this period of unemployment started, I think I had close to a 100% success rate in interviews. Wow, did that go out of the window! Going through recruitment processes, taking weeks on end only to receive a rejection at the end of it was tough to take. I think I was trying to be a candidate that the company wanted me to be, instead of being myself. The more rejections I got, the more I realised this. By the time I went to the recruitment process at the company I was successful at, I did not feel nervous in the slightest; I took all pressure off myself and said ‘All you can do is be yourself. If your not successful, so be it; there’s nothing wrong with that, companies will just be looking for other personal traits to make sure the right people will fit in.’

So, I start work on Monday. I’ve got one more weekend, which I’m going to enjoy, ready for the road ahead – whatever that may bring!

JrT

Leave a Reply

